Skip To Main Content
Students walking on campus

Belmont Hill Class of 2023 Cum Laude Recipients Honored

  • Upper School
Belmont Hill Class of 2023 Cum Laude Recipients Honored

Congratulations to the 17 members of the Class of 2023 who were inducted into the Cum Laude Society at a breakfast event on May 11, 2023 for students and parents.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. It is a fellowship of scholars that recognizes students for their excellence in academic work and personal integrity. Belmont Hill’s Cum Laude chapter has been in existence since 1929 and is one of just 382 worldwide. Approximately 4,000 new students are inducted into the Society annually.

The motto of the Society is "Arete, Dike, Time" – Excellence, Justice, Honor. Arete includes the concept of excellence in the moral sense and is not limited to the idea of superiority and scholarship, nor does it involve the endeavor of competing primarily for academic goals. Dike includes the concepts of what is suitable and appropriate, as well as just. Time includes the concept of dignity and truth.

While it is evident that the young men inducted today are the leaders of our academic program, the Cum Laude Society's vision of excellence is not limited to the singular pursuit of academic achievement. These are young men of character, conviction, and passion. Each of them has worked to make Belmont Hill and their own communities better. They are peer leaders, tutors, community service award winners, and team captains. They are committed artists, thespians, athletes, brothers, and sons. Their commitment to academic excellence not only sets them apart but also inspires their schoolmates and teachers. 

Following remarks from Ronald M. Druker '62 Head of School Greg Schneider and Dean of Studies Eric Smith, members of the College Counseling office, Walker Coppedge, Charlie Doar, and Jamie Phinney, then shared special tributes about each Cum Laude recipient.  

2023 Cum Laude Inductees

Jack Abbrecht
William (Jerry) Austen
Michael Bobo
Jason Cannistraro
Daniel Cho
David Cho
Jeremy Eaton
Malcom Grant
Quinn Healey
Alexander Lo
Cooper Nelson
William Nolan
Frederick Pimental
Turner Rayment
Jack Shah
Kevin Simmons
Max Wagner


Not pictured in group photograph: Jack Shah and Max Wagner.

Recent News Stories